Skip to content

Round robin interview

December 27, 2012

I hope everyone had a Merry Christmas. After finally pulling myself from the couch, liver pickled and stomach overflowing with wonderful home cooked food, I’m excited to post a blogging experience that I’ve been invited to participate in, courtesy of Jan Moran, a fantastic author you should really check out. She’s a fantastically talented author, and I highly recommend her newest novel, Scent of Triumph.

Jan was kind enough to include me in a get-to-know-you type of interview. I’ve got some interesting questions that will hopefully shed a bit of light onto who I am as an author, and give readers insight into where all these words come from (or maybe let you know why my writing is so awful, depending on your personal opinion). Either way, it’s a neat exercise.

1) What is the working title of your next book?

-My next novel, which has just passed from rough draft into the first edit, involves a part of human history that played a much larger role in the founding of American than most people realize. I’m talking about piracy, and the fact that pirates once roamed the waters off America’s shores, their imprint on our society still felt to this day. Right now the title on my laptop is “Book 3”, though I’m hopeful that inspiration will strike sometime before publication.

2)  Where did the idea come from for your book?

-A very simple place. My mind (ha). I started writing because I find pirates and their culture to be fascinating. I try to write about things that interest me, and pirate interaction and presence in America fits the bill. What originally started out as a short story grew into a full novel, and I’m excited to get it out there.

3) What genre does your book fall under?

-Thriller. As with my 2 prior novels, this book will incorporate factual information with fiction I create, blended together to form an entertaining, educational tale.

4) What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

-You know, this is a very interesting question. The reason being, I’ve received multiple reviews that say my books are clearly written for the big screen, usually due to the descriptive nature of the story. Now, if that’s a kind way of saying they’re long, drawn-out boring affairs, then so be it, but I like to think it’s a compliment. However, never once have I looked at a completed draft and said “You know who would be perfect for this part…”, and I’ve never considered the question until now. First response would be for the villain in this tale, a scoundrel named Victor. In my mind’s eye, I see Ian McShane as a solid fit. As for the rest of the cast, the jury is still out.

5) What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

-History professor unearths lost treasure and discovers that pirates still exist.

6) Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

-As with my first two novels, this will be self-published. This allows for the greatest number of people to experience my work as soon as possible.

7) How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

-Around 4 months. I’d say 65% was done in the first month, but after that first month I took on a major new project in my life and I wasn’t able to devote nearly the time I’d like to writing.

8) What other books would you compare this story to within you genre?

-The book I find most similar would be Steve Berry’s recent novel, The Jefferson Key.

9) Who or what inspired you to write this book?

-I’ve always loved pirates, ever since I first saw the Disney version of Treasure Island. When it came time to brainstorm for this 3rd novel, a pirate story jumped onto the page, and I never looked back.

10) What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?

-This novel explores new territory with familiar characters. I did a tremendous amount of research on pirates and their time in America, and I think that shows through in the story. If you like lots of action, buried treasure and looking back into a bygone era, this book should be right up your alley.

 

Thanks again to Jan for the invite, and if you haven’t had a chance to do so, check out my latest novel, The Crowns Vengeance, now available on Amazon.

From → Interviews, Writing

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

